nyc dwi Laws

Intoxicated Driving Laws In New York City

DWI laws in the city of New York make drunk driving a serious offense. If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you’re likely concerned about the severe punishments that can accompany a conviction. The thought of being jailed, paying fines and having your license suspended can create a lot of stress in your life.

Perhaps adding to your worries may be fact that you have little understanding of DWI laws and how they apply to offenses. These laws are very complicated and can be difficult to understand. It can be distressing to not be fully aware of how they may impact your particular case.

Contacting an attorney can help. This professional will help you to understand the charges against you and can begin formulating a DWI defense that may allow you to avoid a conviction, or have your penalties reduced.

To learn more about how DWI laws may affect your case, schedule a consultation with one of our experienced New York City DWI lawyers by

Calling 212-500-3273

Understanding DWI Laws

Driving while intoxicated laws designate multiple offenses that may be charged following a DWI arrest. These designations are influenced by a person’s driving history as well as the circumstances of the drunk driving incident.

In 2009, DWI laws in the state of New York were significantly strengthened with the passage of Leandra’s Law. This legislation served to toughen penalties for driving while intoxicated while transporting children in the vehicle.

DWI offenses that may be charged in the New York City include:

  • First DWI offense:  This charge can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and one year in jail, though probation is more common in first-time offenses
  • Second DWI offense:  A second DWI may be charged as a felony and lead to a fine of $5,000 and up to four years in jail.
  • Aggravated DWI: These offenses also may be charged as a felony and could require a fine of up to $2,500 and result in one year in jail.
  • Felony DWI:  This may be charged with any repeat offense, could require a fine of $5,000 and a jail term of seven years
  • DWAI: Also known as  driving while ability impaired, this can result in a fine of up to $500 and require 15 days in jail
  • DWAI drugs:  Also known as driving while ability impaired  because of drug use. This can lead to a fine of $1,000 as well as a jail sentence of one year.

As can be seen, the penalties called for under DWI laws typically increase with the number of offenses, and when aggravating factors in a case cause prosecutors to deem an offense to be more severe.

Getting Legal Help After An Arrest: Trust A New York City Lawyer

If you have been charged with DWI, having a lawyer who can help you understand the applicable laws is an important part of mounting a successful DWI defense. Recognizing the circumstances that have led to the charge and knowing what the penalties may be if you are convicted represent an important foundation for making sound legal decisions.

An attorney will be fully informed about the New York City’s statutes that affect your case and can explain them in terms that are easy to understand. This legal advocate can also share potential DWI defense strategies that may allow you to challenge aspects of the state’s case against you, potentially allowing you to see the charges against you dismissed.

To schedule a consultation with an experienced New York City DWI attorney.
Calling 212-500-3273